My darling wild one. Thank you.

Because you have humbled me with your honesty, when I realise that I don’t know it all. Because I have been pushed to places that are uncomfortable, you have challenged me there. I have grown the most in those places. Because you have shown me true beauty. Because you have healed me from my own wounds. Because I now know no one person’s opinion of me is greater than yours. You are what matters. Because I have learnt to be more assertive. Because I have learned not to worry so much about what others think. Because I have felt the greatest love whilst the most vulnerability. Because being your mum is my greatest honour.

Trying to change you would be like a caged bird. To be caged, to be tamed, to clip your wings. A caged bird may make life easier for its owner or for the public who wish to see a tame bird. But your true beauty is untameable, it shines when you are free. As with a bird with his wings stretched in the cool breeze, feathers glistening in the sun, I have no right to own you, to try to mould you, cut your feathers all under the premise of good parenting. I will give you all that you need to grow to succeed as you are, I will wait patiently for you to come to me, I will admire your intense beauty, your true nature, all that you are. I will trust that your instincts to survive and excel in your world will guide you as with my love. My love. I promise to love you even when I don’t understand you, I promise to hold you when your emotions are too intense for you to hold yourself. I promise to protect you from those who stand between who you are and what they think you should be.

For you do not need to change, the world needs to change, not you. Until then I will be beside you, this I promise.  

My darling wild one.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

